Learning a bit about Black Hair

I was watching Melissa Harris-Perry last weekend on MSNBC (Saturday and Sunday mornings 7 am PST) and, as she often does, she caught me by surprise, this time by talking about Black Hair.

Now there I was, a (mostly) white guy in Vancouver BC suddenly fascinated by the everyday reality for millions of women. In just a few minutes she spoke to my long-held curiosity (piqued by my first girlfriend 49 years ago in Newport, RI — she was, incidentally black).

MH-P’s segments were called

The Politics of Black Hair

There’s Big Business in Black Hair

and finally

Great Moments in Black Hair

It was there I saw the photo of the (white) father who has assumed the duties of haircare for his adopted Ethiopian daughter (see above).

This segment was more moving than anything else I learned on Sunday.

And here’s another site with similar musings:

Brown Babies with Pink Parents” on the wonderful CurlyNikki website.

Leave a Reply

